Too Close to Home.

Image

Austin Wiseman, 12, and Blake Campbell, 9

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/ohio-boy-fatally-shoots-brother-article-1.1384879

The photo’s of these fresh faced young boys strike terror in my heart, the story itself is tragic, but I see tragic stories in my news feed every day. In this age of information we are bombarded by stories and images of things that feels worlds away. We have become desensitized to horror. We read their story and we put it away in the “That can’t happen to me” file we keep in our brains. We may take a moment to feel bad for the family or the people that are affected by the tragedy, but in a moment we are back to our normal lives with out another thought to the things we have read.

This morning I couldn’t snap back into my normal life, the images of Austin and Blake are far to familiar, they both bear a resemblance to my sons, ages 13 and 9.

The thought of “what if that were my children” is overpowering when I stare into those innocent faces and think “What happened?”

“How could this have been prevented”

Gun control or at the very least better regulation.

I do not own a gun, but my boy’s father owns plenty.

I live in the south where up until the rash of school shootings, teenage boys use to drive into the high school parking lot with their deer rifles mounted on the back of their truck window.

Talk about gun control where I am from will get a cold shoulder, or a lecture on how it is our American right to bear arms.

An American right that is killing our children.

An American right widely unregulated and claiming new lives daily.

I have heard that the media is now focusing on isolated incidences to make the issue of gun control a bigger one than is actually needed.

Sensationalism, media hype.

Yet this week a family is burying two boys that will never have a chance to grow up and be the men they were meant to be.

The images of Trayvon Martin laying on the ground clutching his paper bag was not enough.

Sandy Hooks was not enough.

Austin and Blake are not enough.

Criminals will still manage to get guns, lobbyists argue.

It will keep guns from the people that need them to protect their selves and their families from criminals.

Yet in my opinion the real criminals are the people fighting so hard against regulation of guns.

When will the increasing loss of life start to matter?

When we stop blaming the parents or guardian’s claiming they “were not responsible” gun owners and accept that there is NO such thing as a responsible gun owner.

If you read the news these accidents are happening in homes of Police Officers and of families that before the tragedies occur would have swore they were “responsible.”

Hindsight is 20/20, what is so sad is we can look back and see what should have been done to protect Austin and Blake, but we still refuse to look forward and put laws into place that will protect MY children.

I’ve heard Gun’s dont kill people, People kill people. My reply to that is they are a whole lot more effective with a gun in their hand.

Its time for someone to wake up and pay attention.

Enough it Enough.

5 thoughts on “Too Close to Home.

  1. Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    “Hindsight is 20/20, what is so sad is we can look back and see what should have been done to protect Austin and Blake, but we still refuse to look forward and put laws into place that will protect other children.”

  2. Beautifully said per the norm for you my friend!!! While I agree with most all you have said here, I disagree that there are no responsible gun owners…There are numerous guns in my home, all stored in a locked gun safe….Ammo, stored in a completely different location in my home…Only two people know where and how to access those guns or the ammo, and per responsible gun ownership, I was informed I cannot be one of that elite group as I might use the gun irresponsibly ….The guns in my home are never loaded until they are unlocked at the gun range….At the end of a shooting session they are all, unloaded, and then fired repeatedly, to make certain the chamber is clear, locked and stored back into the boxes they were transported in…Once at home, no matter how bad the need to pee first, the guns are brought inside, never left in the car, and once nature has been taken care of, they are carefully stored and locked back into their homes….My grandchildren have full access to my home and have never even noticed that there are guns in this house because they are so well hidden…We do not live in a state of fear with a loaded gun as some sense of false security…Guns in my home are for sport only and treated as the dangerous weapons that they can be used as….And for the record, before the 3 year old comes to visit, I move and hide all the knives and scissors too….We came too close to a tragic haircutting incident a while back that made me rethink how was best to keep my family safe…..I love reading your heartfelt opinions my friend, and as stated earlier, you never disappoint, ever so eloquent!!!

    • Do you believe you are the exception or the rule? Knowing you I believe you have ran every “could go wrong” scenario through your mind and acted in prevention of those things whereas many “responsible owners” (or people that claim to be responsible) Lock their guns and ammo in a cabinet and put the keys in their dressers or whatever hiding spot they feel is safe. I remember being a kid and knowing where every key to unlock everything was. My grandfather had a gun locked away in a safe downstairs and my brother and I both on several occasions borrowed the keys from his desk and unlocked the safe to look at it. We were left alone for hours at a time and had you asked my Grandparents they would have sworn we were completely safe and had no idea that there was a gun in the house. I have no love of the sport therefore I probably feel more extreme than if I had a passion for guns. I am sure it is not the case for your household and the measures that you have explained, but I feel that many people with guns in the house leave feeling safe that they have taken the necessary precautions when in fact they just had an illusion of security because the guns were locked up.

  3. Oh, I absolutely believe we are an exception….That is why as stated before I agree with most of what you said…I believe in strict regulation, rigid education, on what really is safe gun ownership being a requirement, and I believe in very strict penalties for those that do not follow safe gun ownership, resulting in either a crime or accidental shooting with the owners gun…Until owners, are forced to hold the legal responsibility for the actions taken with their ill stored guns I do not believe the average person will place upon themselves the strict guidelines required to keep their guns out of the hand of children or criminals….My only point was and still is, there absolutely is a way to keep your guns out of the wrong hands and protect your children from doing harm to themselves or others….If people want to have their guns they should follow safety precautions and if they won’t self impose then it should be forced with severe repercussions…And as for a passion for guns, I have none, I enjoy guns as much as I enjoy fishing and you know how much that is!!!But the truth in the above statement, is that I really have zero access to the guns here because Laurie is convinced I would get mad over my kids or grandkids and shoot someone… The keys to all of the guns storage are not even kept in this house and outside of Laurie there is only one other person that knows where to find them….Before grandchildren there was a loaded shotgun under her bed, now you could not find anyone more careful and cautious….

Leave a Reply

