Broken

You broke me slowly
bit by bit
you’d make a crack
then pull me back
Just to see if you could.
I’d come, heart in my hands.
Forgiving, loving, understanding
Hope bound me in chains
Care and concern for you was my captor.
I gave freely, as you tortured me
Understanding, you were just hurt.
You needed time.
Did breaking me make you whole?
Whole enough to not need me anymore.
standing in your corner giving you my every breath,
to fill the void inside you.
Now I’m the empty one.
Its okay.
I can refill on my own.
I don’t need to break a soul.
By Radonna Hill

take_my_broken_heart1

Leave a Reply

