If I must

If I must be crushed,

then let me be a rose,

 be the beauty in the broken,

the pain inside the prose.

If I must be elastic,

let my heart expand.

Let me love in spite of

what I do not understand.

If I must know heartache,

then let me be a light,

so that someone else can know,

they are strong enough to fight.

Please let there be a purpose

for the pain I chose to bear.

Let me not be bitter

because it feels unfair.

Accept with grace

the things I can not know

Never stunt my spirit,

just because it hurts to grow.

Let me be loving

Let me be warm.

Let me be grateful

in spite of the storm.

One thought on “If I must

Leave a Reply

